Some NET questions

Issues related to VMProtect
AusterX

Some NET questions

Post by AusterX »

Hello,
i've some questions about NET, sorry if i'm not a superskilled coder.
1) i use obfuscation attributes directly in src code, in VMP gui i just load a basic .vmp project file with only global settings in it (in which i see by default a VMComplexity="20")
Is there a way to change the VM complexity directly inside the obfuscation attribute for just that piece of code covered by that attribute?

1b) In VMP gui under options, there are greyed out settings like VM version = default and Instances=default and Complexity=None, but in the .vmp file there is a global VMComplexity="20". These gui settings are actually only for native code and not NET?

2) "renaming" attribute gets effects only if VMP project has "strip debug information" enabled, which is fine for me, even if i loose excemption messages, anyway question is: methods name are really randomized, or an eventual cracker can recover back the original names?
In other words: should i better rename methods like sha256hash(data) to guesswhat(data)? Question came in mind because i saw some serialization library which uses reflection (system.text.jason, messagepack...) cannot work with renamed structs/classes (different name every VMP compile), instead an enum.ToString() reports the correct enum name, even if renaming is enabled.

2b) So... really no way to get back an human readable excemption message?

Thanks for any info
Admin
Site Admin

Re: Some NET questions

Post by Admin »

1. The Virtual Machine properties don't affect to .NET applications, so they are disabled.
2. New names are really randomized and a cracker is unable to get the original names. About names that used in reflection - VMProtect has heuristic algorithms that help to exclude such names from renaming automatically (without additional obfuscation attributes). Anyway, there is no way to show readable exception message after renaming.
AusterX