Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." dialog

Issues related to VMProtect
Post Reply
bitman2112
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:24 pm

Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." dialog

Post by bitman2112 »

Hi,

I want to suppress the:

This code requires valid serial number to run.
Program will be terminated.


I tried erasing the string in Options and saving my vmp file, but after recompilation, it's still there!

Thanks.

:Ron
bitman2112
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." di

Post by bitman2112 »

I guess I should say why I desire to suppress this particular messagebox.

My protected project is a COM plugin DLL that plugs into a 3rd party application, SONARPDR.EXE

Upon exhaustion of trial period, I put up a message box that the trial is up, and don't create the application object.
This messagebox has a title that is the same as my project - good.

The next dialog is the "Code requires a serial number to run" dialog from VMProtect. But this messagebox has the
Host Application's name in it SONARPDR so the user will no doubt think this error is coming from SONARPDR and that IT
has no proper serial number to run with
.

This is presumably because I did not create my object and am dead now.

This is why I will need to suppress this message box if at all possible.
Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2584
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:19 pm
Location: Russia, E-burg
Contact:

Re: Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." di

Post by Admin »

If you don't need to show this dialog you can check VMPotectgetSerialNumberState before calling of a locked by serial number function.
Something like this:

Code: Select all

VMProtectSetSerialNumber(...);
...
if (VMProtectGetSerialNumberState() == 0)
  function_locked_by_serial_number();
else {
  MessageBox("function_locked_by_serial_number() can not be called");
  return;
}
bitman2112
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." di

Post by bitman2112 »

Hu, I'll be....

Thanks.
bitman2112
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: Suppressing "Code requires a serial number to run..." di

Post by bitman2112 »

Seems obvious now in retrospect.

Works just as well

спасибо! :)
Post Reply